Recycled Lip Love

Oh the wonders of make-up! About half the time I don’t even bother, but the other half I think ‘I should never leave the house without it’. What I do not walk out of the house without is lip balm or lipstick, it always makes me feel classy.

chic tube (L) new lipstick (R)

chic tube (L) new lipstick (R)

A while ago I was given a nude lipstick that came in a very chic gold colored tube; I have just about finished with the lipstick, but it feels like such a shame to toss out the tube. A simple solution to this dilemma however is to remove the worn down lipstick and place a new one in the tube. It is very easy.

First I put both lipstick in the freezer and let it sit overnight. Once it was morning I twisted both tubes until I could see the plastic base holding the lipstick in the tube. Using a plastic baggy I carefully removed the old lipstick and then did the same with the new one. After that I just switched tubes and that was all.

Recycled Lip Love

Recycled Lip Love

The lipstick that was originally in the gold plated tube was LipBlush Beige Dream by Estee Lauder, and the new lipstick was Aloe Lipstick Orange by Princessa; the latter was only $1.99, the name is Orange but when it is applied it is actually pink, and it lasts forever!

I learned this tip from the DIY burlesque queen, Dita Von Teese. She always looks impeccable, and I admire her thrifty (yet elegant) lifestyle.

Leave a comment

  • Email

    Join 8 other subscribers
  • Archives

  • Categories